(Public Drabble) Black Coffee

Charlottesville, Virginia

C-ville Coffee

12:25 p.m.  March 25, 2015

You were tall. Impossibly so. Towering behind me, I heard your voice before I saw you. I felt the sharpness of your words.

“Tall coffee,” you said.  “No cream.”

By the starch in your button down and the crease in your slacks, I knew you’d take it black. Stiff, no nonsense, you didn’t move out of the way when I reached for a napkin. Instead you stood still, as if the world wasn’t spinning.  As if the rest of us weren’t even there.

2 thoughts on “(Public Drabble) Black Coffee

Leave a Reply

