It’s Better in the Bahamas

oneandonly2

By His Royal Heinous

As a child, the ads mesmerized: all smiling faces, pink-white sands, steel-drum music, and that vivid turquoise water. The Bahamas seemed like an exclusive haven for the luckiest people. I was not so lucky. My mom had cancer.

The Bahamas – even the name seemed exotic, a warm embrace of “ahs.”

Ba, as in “bath” – warm, comforting.

Ha – like laughter.

And, of course, Ma – mom.

Dad finally took me there the Summer after mom died. We went snorkeling.

I hovered with the sun on my back above a phosphorescent universe, blissful and sad – the warm salty water indistinguishable from my tears.

4 thoughts on “It’s Better in the Bahamas

Leave a Reply

