Judy for the First Time

I wasn’t attracted to her.  I should have been.  Judy was tall and willowy, had long brown hair and golden skin.  But she ignored me and spoke mostly to the guy who introduced us.  Dave dominated the conversation.  Judy joined in whenever he paused for breath.

 I sat at our table and listened to her laugh.  She sounded like a crazed loon.

I rode in back when Dave drove Judy back to her place.  She got out, stood on the sidewalk, and stared at me.  The burning look in her hazel eyes sealed my fate. We married eleven months later.

6 thoughts on “Judy for the First Time

Leave a Reply

