Waiting for Life

the new babies 527_peBy Henrika Frost

Life goes on around me. The people in pastels scurry past, giving me reassuring nods on their way.

I distract myself by flipping through a magazine, but it’s all just white noise. I fidget.

Each time the doors open, my spirit soars in anticipation – only to crash and burn, yet again, as a stranger walks through. What’s taking so long?

Tick, tock.

Seconds become minutes; the world continues turning, forgetting me in limbo.

The doors open anew, and our midwife walks through. She places a bundle in my arms.

Tick.

My child looks up at me, and everything changes.

Tock.

6 thoughts on “Waiting for Life

Leave a Reply

