‘… But you need cash’

“I’ve got something.” Dan glanced behind to make sure no one overheard.  “But you need cash.” I looked back too. I couldn’t risk one of the teachers catching me. Not after the last time, trading cards. He spread them out in a fan and my hand moved without my even realizing.
“Money first.” Dan snatched them back before I could sully them.  I dug in my pocket and came up with a dollar. “S’all I’ve got.” His lip lifted in a sneer. “Go on, then.”
My hand hovered while I chose. Then swooped. The plastic baggie of weed was mine.
3 thoughts on “‘… But you need cash’

Leave a Reply

