Small Steps

pen-calendar-to-do-checklistBy Samuel Woodford

I have a to-do list. The final point, number twelve, says “Win Booker Prize.” So far this morning I’ve managed to work my way through to numbers three, four and five, all of which are in agreement: “Put some pants on.”

“Small steps, my boy, small steps,” my father had advised me as a lad, shortly before missing his footing on Margate Pier and toppling into the sea. He had never been a strong swimmer, and as soon as I’d finished my ice cream I resolved to follow his mediocre advice to the letter.

Right, time for a nap.

7 thoughts on “Small Steps

  1. This is great and I can definitely identify with procrastination. However I do think that there is too much pressure on people ton get everything done, now! So your to-do list is a good idea…as long as you can stick with it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

