A Thirst for Dusk

splatter-303569_1280By Zanthee

In the beautiful light of dusk I saw an ugly sight. Red stains through golden fur, my gorgeous Otto lay limp on the ground with a last feeble twitch of the tail. Something hovered over his blood soaked body; a guttural, slurping, growl escaped as the feeding continued.
I hold my breath, readying for a stealthy getaway but it is too late.
Long face, sharp fangs, exposed ribs.
It examines me through silvery-grey, slits.
The low, menacing growl reverberates in my eardrums again. But this time it isn’t coming from the nightmarish creature facing me.
It is coming from behind.
2 thoughts on “A Thirst for Dusk

Leave a Reply

