Lamentations

5934138983_e923bdabb4_b
Image supplied by author.

By One Hour Fiction

I take my usual spot,

Perched on your shoulder.

He takes the left side,

I take the right.

It’s my turn to go first.

I take a deep breath and begin my impassioned speech.

You stop in your tracks.

It looks like it’s working.

Then he chimes in.

And with a few choice, seductive words

You’re sold.

Just like that.

Just like always.

I work so hard trying so save your soul.

Why do I even bother?

You all end up in the same place anyway.

One thought on “Lamentations

Leave a Reply

