Maybe It’ll go Away

nurse-527622_1920

By Anonymous

“Is there anything else you wanted to talk about today?” the doctor asks.

My eyes go straight to the gray flecks on the white tile floor, then to the cream-colored walls, the stainless steel sink, the soap dispenser, the opaque window, the stand-up scale.

149 lbs (not bad). Blood pressure 140/92 (not so good). Temperature 97.1 (odd). I feel okay, and that’s what matters, right?

Thing is, I’ve been having trouble peeing. Some nights I hover at the toilet till I’m light-headed. I know I’ve reached that age. I won’t mention it. I’m here for a flu shot.

4 thoughts on “Maybe It’ll go Away

  1. Great descriptions and so true, when at the doctor we look all over the room! It is also typical not mentioning something different to the answer of is there anything else? Why we feel unable to answer honestly is beyond me. I sometimes find myself hoping he might guess it lol Great post!!

    @Samantha/samratkel from
    Shadow Realities

    Like

Leave a Reply

