The Leaving

person-731144_1920

By Ishmael A Soledad

 

 

She walks down the hallway, bag in each hand.

 

“Goodbye.”

 

After five years she’s going, smiling.

 

“Who is he? Dave?”

 

“Noone, it’s only you.”

 

She’s at the doorstep, stars and our acreage beyond. Will she buy it or force the sale?

 

“Will I see you again?”

 

“Dunno,” mumbling, fidgeting. “Should be soon.”

 

“What’d I do?”

 

She turns, looks me in my eyes through tracked mascara. There’s no smile, just determination, fear, longing, hope, uncertainty all rolled up.

 

“I tried! But they said no …”

 

“What?”

 

She was rapidly dissolving into a multi-colored shaft of light. “They only asked for me.”

2 thoughts on “The Leaving

Leave a Reply

