Apéritif

casal-1332254_1280

By Grove Koger

 “Shall we have another drink?”

“No—not until we get there. We don’t want to turn into the Clyburns.”

“Jim and Pat?”

“The same.”

He set his glass down. “Have I missed something?”

“Apparent-ly. That party at the Joneses?”

“Last week? Was there a scene? It was awfully warm, I remember that.”

“Jim made a pass at somebody and Pat dragged him home by the ear. I’m surprised you didn’t notice.”

“I guess I was out back. Lucky for me. Now I don’t have to think anything bad about him.”

“No,” she said, looking away. “I guess you don’t.”

2 thoughts on “Apéritif

Leave a Reply

