Prison Cell

pastedImage

By Cristina Matteis

Small-Town, Ontario

Office Cell
2:01 p.m. June 24, 2016
Behind the oppressive glow of computer monitors, the fluorescent light burns my skin. This where my creativity comes to die.
Inside these canary walls, I am chained to my desk like a prisoner, forced to endure the incessant tapping of fingers on keys, dry coughs and the relentless rattling of the tired air conditioning unit.
I catch myself wondering if this color choice were a misguided jab at irony – a constant reminder of the summer sun I won’t get to see.
One thought on “Prison Cell

Leave a Reply

