Something is Missing

suit-407086_1920

By Renuka Raghavan

“Ma, I think I’m missing some of Dad’s stuff,” he said into the phone.

“Are you sure?”

“I can’t find his suit, the dark one.” Noting the silence on the other end, he continued, “I thought I’d donate it. Someone else could get use out of it.”

“Well, if I find it I’ll be sure to let you know.”

Months later, he stopped at his mother’s house unannounced. He found her asleep in bed, her body spooning a dusky gray suit meticulously arranged on the bed. The biting absence of his father’s reciprocating embrace choked the air with hopeless yearning.

 

3 thoughts on “Something is Missing

Leave a Reply

