The Job Interview at the End of the World

beachy-head-1030825_1920

By Rufus Woodward

“You’ll be fine,” she said.

“I don’t feel fine.”

“Can’t you just relax? What’s the worst that could happen?”

“I don’t get the job? I lose my apartment? I have to move back home and look after Dad?”

“For a bit, maybe. But not forever. It’s just one interview. It’s not the end of the world.”

“People always say that. It never helps. The very minute the world actually ends somebody somewhere will still be saying ‘Relax. It’s not the end of the world,’ and not helping.”

“You’ll be fine,” she said.

“Sure. I know. But I don’t feel fine.”

One thought on “The Job Interview at the End of the World

Leave a Reply

