Where I Left My Body Behind

car-1430481_1920

By Marissa LaPorte

My mangled body lies beneath me. It’s shocking to see the shell that held my essence for two decades completely lifeless. I watch the paramedics cover my body in a white sheet and carry it away. There are flashing lights and scattered car parts. I always knew I was a bad driver. Oops. There’s a silhouette of blood on the street, but it looks more like abstract art than a shadow of a human body. They are driving away in the ambulance with my body now. My soul, however, still remains where I left my body behind.

Short author bio: Marissa LaPorte’s work has appeared in Hedge Apple, Serendipity, Literative.com, The Flash Fiction Press, Speculative 66, Sick Lit Magazine, and 600 Second Saga.

Leave a Reply

