When You’re Not With Me

blindfolded-1732522_1920

By C. Z. Vasser

Do you ride or die?
does your hand
hide your smile?
do you fly the kite
or refuse to dance
when you are not with me?

Are you at the window early?
do you crave desert?
is the duvet enough?
do you long for glens and glades?
Have I no reflection

Am I cup or utensil?
eat from me
I would eat you
even though the apples
are poisoned

Are your scapula balmy wings?

Are you nectar or naked
in a flute or frame
for some other saxman?

Are you cello
when you are not with me?

One thought on “When You’re Not With Me

Leave a Reply

