Becoming Me

high-heeled-shoes-507983_1920

By Sandy Wilson

Sitting elegantly on the edge of my bed, legs crossed, I carefully apply polish to my finger nails: red talons to match the red stiletto shoes standing on the dressing table. I feel a frisson of pleasure.

Buying the shoes had been another milestone in becoming me. My drunken mom and abusive father would not recognize the adult version of their son. One day I’ll go home to Aliceville and sit in their trashy diner, order seafood gumbo and watch them; an anthropologist observing some low life species.

Then again, maybe I won’t. Why bother? Why waste the time?

    
Bio: Sandy Wilson has a number of works included in the anthology The Pulse of Everything. His book, Memory Spill, will be published in February.

2 thoughts on “Becoming Me

Leave a Reply

