The Girl on the Bus

passengers-1150043_1920

By J.J. Vaughan

I am waiting for the bus. I always get there early to be in front of the crowd. You don’t have to wonder if there will be room. A young woman made her way up behind me. Then beside me.

The bus came and I thought, “Should I let her on first?” Does she expect chivalry or will it be misogynistic to step aside? Based on her “smash-the-patriarchy” jacket pin, I decided on the latter. Besides, she jumped queue.

I hear her sigh behind me as I step on: An openly verbal expression of annoyance. Chivalry isn’t dead; it’s selective.

4 thoughts on “The Girl on the Bus

  1. Queue etiquette is a can of worms! For things like access arrangements or public transport, I always let anybody with a mobility issue, pram/buggy, walking aid, etc, go first. It’s just common decency. I think in the case of chivalry, it can be a matter of ‘damned if you do, damned if you don’t.’ Damned or not, I enjoyed the story!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

