Don’t Forget

pair-2548151_1920

By Eva Rivers

“… and don’t forget, I love you,” she says.

We’ve been making love one last time before she goes on holiday.  Suitcase packed. Tank full.  Husband’s driving.

I wish we could go away together. Somewhere safe. And not always be looking over our shoulders.

She dresses just as seductively as she undresses.

“Don’t forget,” she says with a quick consoling kiss. And she leaves.

I love you, she said. Not, you’re the one I love.  Or, it’s only you I love.

Does that mean she loves him as well as me? Is that why I need to be consoled?

Whatever.

4 thoughts on “Don’t Forget

Leave a Reply

