Agnostic Storm

clouds-cloudy-field-meadow

John stopped going to church after his mother died. He’d only gone to please her anyway. He remembers sitting on her lap as a child, and saying

“Just in case, when I die

look everywhere for me. If you die

look everywhere for me while I look

forever everywhere for you.”

Now he sees a storm on every horizon. Inside, he’s a rumbling kettledrum, a choir of wind chimes. He no longer seeks — but rather craves that certainty the faithful have that there is something that lives beyond this body, like amputees scratching at limbs that are not there.

8 thoughts on “Agnostic Storm

  1. Beautifully sad – I can just imagine a child speaking those words- ‘look everywhere for me’, a fear of being alone, even though it is heaven. And the adult John too, seeking faith ‘like amputees scratching at limbs that aren’t there’- a great line and a super analogy. A really good read

    Like

  2. “Just in case, when I die look everywhere for me”

    That line just hits at the heart. Well done.

    Like

  3. Many people fear being forgotten, just a name scratched on the back of an old photograph. Today we don’t even have that because our pictures are just files on a hard drive.

    Like

Leave a comment