Escape Tunnel

escape-710903_1280

By Brad Rose

Told Shanice that I don’t like to give myself any crazy ideas, so I focus on what’s important, what’s right in front of me. Just get the job done. Wednesday, when I pulled up to the bank, it was quiet as a fingerprint. As I entered, both tellers smiled at me, as if they were my friends. I don’t like anything touching my face, so I don’t wear a mask. I like to look people in the eye. Sure, between rounds, there’s whimpering and moaning, but afterward, there’s a silence so thick, you need a tunnel to crawl through it.
     
Brad Rose is the author of a collection of poetry and flash fiction, Pink X-Ray. His new two new books of poetry, Momentary Turbulence and WordinEdgeWise, are forthcoming from Cervena Barva Press.

One thought on “Escape Tunnel

Leave a comment