Portrait of Two Women on the Same Canvas

By salgal80

Last year, I wandered into a gallery upstate while visiting Grandmother. A blonde woman smiled, handed me chardonnay. Colorful abstracts covered the walls. It was her opening.

I recognized the name. To her, I was anyone.

Stepping outside for air, a black mutt greeted me. I scratched him behind the ears.

“I see you’ve met Scotty.”

“Charming dog.”

She asked what I thought of the show. I lied.

“Friend me on Facebook,” she quipped.

Ironically, her husband had unfriended me.

Recently I posted a poem about a doomed affair. She hearted it and commented, “Bastard!”

I replied, thumbs up.

––––––––––––
Sally Simon writes to avoid shoveling snow, while simultaneously slaying old demons with words. It’s a win-win.

6 thoughts on “Portrait of Two Women on the Same Canvas

Leave a comment