Mail

samuel-zeller-G_xJrvHN9nk-unsplash

By Rachael Dickzen

My freshly stuffed mailbox whispers stories of my pain, too many doctors and tests, needles and IVs and bandages. The matter-of-fact numbers swimming in my vision sing an ode to my 31-year-old body, too soon broken, and the credit card bills lingering despite my Very Good health insurance.

Envelopes with telltale windows arrive long after I think I’ve defeated them. They pour over my battlements with new claims, new charges, new issues. I stack my enemies up in a desk corner until they slip-slide out of place; I pay them just before they cut me down. I miss getting postcards.

           
Rachael Dickzen is a lawyer who writes because it gives her great joy.

4 thoughts on “Mail

  1. Nicely captured. I’d like to say, “Been there; done that” but I have to be honest and say, “Am there; doing that.” Salute!

    Like

Leave a comment